Home | Research | Teaching | People | Contact | Materials Science | Chemical Engineering

Solid State Ionics and Electroceramics Research Group

The work in Prof. Sossina Haile's research group broadly encompasses solid state ionic materials and devices, with a particular focus on energy technologies. Her group has worked to establish a new class of fuel cells based on solid acid elctrolytes and has demonstrated record power densities for solid oxide fuel cells. The group's more recent work on water and carbon dioxide dissociation for solar-fuel generation by thermochemical processes has created new avenues for harnessing sunlight to meet energy demands.

The Haile group is loosely associated with the thermoelectric materials effort led by faculty associate G. Jeffrey Snyder.

Visit our Research Page  
 

 
  Graduate Students    
 

Rob Usiskin
Materials Science, G6
Steele 305 x1760
rusiskin@caltech.edu

Chih-Kai Yang
Materials Science, G6
Steele 324 x4812
ckyang@caltech.edu
 

Chirranjeevi (BG)
Balaji Gopal
Materials Science, G5
Steele 302 x2777
bgc@caltech.edu

Vanessa Evoen
Chemical Engineering, G4
Steele 302 x2777
vevoen@caltech.edu

  Lincoln Collins
Materials Science, G3
Thomas 302 x8775
lcollins@caltech.edu
Mike Ignatowich
Chemical Engineering, G2
Steele 305 x1760
mignatow@caltech.edu
 

Ho Il Ji
Materials Science, G2
Steele 330 x5732
hji@caltech.edu

Anupama Khan
Chemistry, G2
Steele 305 x1760
aqkhan@caltech.edu

 

Chris Kucharczyk
Materials Science, G2
Steele 303 x1711
cjk@caltech.edu

Haemin Paik
Materials Science, G1
Steele 303 x1711
hpaik@caltech.edu

   

 

  Postdoctoral Associates    
  Dr. Tim Davenport
Postdoctoral Scholar
Steele 330 x5732
tdavenpo@caltech.edu

Dr. Sara Thoi
Postdoctoral Scholar
Steele 305 x1760
sarathoi@caltech.edu
   

 

  Visitors in Residence    
 

Dr. Wolfgang Zeier
Thermoelectrics Postdoc
Steele 321 x5776
zeier@caltech.edu

Philipp Donaubauer
Visiting Student Researcher
Chemical Engineering, Technical University Munich

Steele 324 x4812
pdonauba@caltech.edu
 

 

Camille Miazza
Visiting Student Researcher
Chemical Engineering, EPFL
Steele 328 x2309
cmiazza@caltech.edu

Adriana Queiroz
Visiting Student Researcher
Chemistry, University of Sao Paulo - Brazil
Steele 326 x4814

   

 

  Undergraduate Students    
 

Ian Koss
Senior, Caltech
Materials Science
ikoss@caltech.edu

Webster Guan
Junior, Caltech
Chemical Engineering
wguan@caltech.edu

  Sheila Handler
Junior, Caltech
Chemistry
shandler@caltech.edu
Vy-Luan Huynh
Junior, Caltech
Computer Science
vhuynh@caltech.edu
  Jin Ho Park
Junior, Gwangju Institute of
Science and Technology
Chemistry
jpark5@caltech.edu
Netgie Laguerre
Sophomore, Caltech
Chemical Engineering
nlaguerr@caltech.edu
  Parul Pubbi
Sophomore, Caltech
Chemical Engineering
ppubbi@caltech.edu
Jingwei Shi
Sophomore, Caltech
Chemical Engineering jshi@caltech.edu
   

 

  Visitors      
  Dr. Aron Varga
Visiting Associate
Steele 326 x4814
aron.varga@iom-leipzig.de
Dr. Yong Hao
Visiting Associate
Steele 324 x4812
haoyong@caltech.edu
 

Dr. Calum Chisholm
Visiting Associate
calum@caltech.edu

Dr. Yoshihiro Yamazaki
Visiting Associate
Steele 324 x4812
yamazaki@caltech.edu


Former Members

 

top


Home | Research | Teaching | People | Contact | Materials Science | Chemical Engineering

2003 California Institute of Technology
Last modified: July 16, 2014