Home | Research | Teaching | People | Contact | Materials Science | Chemical Engineering

Solid State Ionics and Electroceramics Research Group

The work in Prof. Sossina Haile's research group broadly encompasses solid state ionic materials and devices, with a particular focus on energy technologies. Her group has worked to establish a new class of fuel cells based on solid acid elctrolytes and has demonstrated record power densities for solid oxide fuel cells. The group's more recent work on water and carbon dioxide dissociation for solar-fuel generation by thermochemical processes has created new avenues for harnessing sunlight to meet energy demands.

The Haile group is loosely associated with the thermoelectric materials effort led by faculty associate G. Jeffrey Snyder.

Visit our Research Page  
 

 
  Graduate Students    
 

Rob Usiskin
Materials Science, G6
Steele 305 x 1760
rusiskin@caltech.edu

Chih-Kai Yang
Materials Science, G6
Steele 324 x4812
ckyang@caltech.edu
 

Chirranjeevi (BG)
Balaji Gopal
Materials Science, G5
Steele 302 x1711
bgc@caltech.edu

Vanessa Evoen
Chemical Engineering, G4
Steele 302 x1711
vevoen@caltech.edu

  Lincoln Collins
Materials Science, G3
Thomas 302 x8775
lcollins@caltech.edu
Mike Ignatowich
Chemical Engineering, G2
Steele 305 x1760
mignatow@caltech.edu
 

Ho Il Ji
Materials Science, G2
Steele 330 x5732
hji@caltech.edu

Anupama Khan
Chemistry, G2
Steele 305 x1760
aqkhan@caltech.edu

 

Chris Kucharczyk
Materials Science, G2
Steele 321 x5576
cjk@caltech.edu

Haemin Paik
Materials Science, G1
Steele 303 x1711
hpaik@caltech.edu

  Nate Thomas
Materials Science, G1
Steele 303 x1711
nthomas@caltech.edu

Ben Slone
Materials Science, G1
Steele 303 x1711
bslone@caltech.edu

   

 

  Postdoctoral Associates    
  Dr. Tim Davenport
Postdoctoral Scholar
Steele 330 x5732
tdavenpo@caltech.edu

Dr. Hari Prasad Dasari
Postdoctoral Scholar
Steele 303 x1711
energyhari@gmail.com
 

Dr. Sara Thoi
Postdoctoral Scholar
Steele 305 x1760
sarathoi@caltech.edu

 
   

 

  Visitors in Residence    
  Dr. Yoshihiro Yamazaki
Visiting Associate
Steele 324 x4812
yamazaki@caltech.edu

 


   

 

  Undergraduate Students    
 

Arun Asundi
Junior

Chemical Engineering
aasundi@caltech.edu

Ian Koss
Junior
Materials Science
ikoss@caltech.edu

 

Kurtis Carsch
Sophomore
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
kcarsch@caltech.edu

Patrick Nikong
Sophomore
Chemical Engineering
pnikong@caltech.edu

   

 

  Visitors      
  Dr. Aron Varga
Visiting Associate
Steele 326 x4814
aron.varga@iom-leipzig.de
Dr. Yong Hao
Visiting Associate
Steele 324 x4812
haoyong@caltech.edu
 

Dr. Calum Chisholm
Visiting Associate
Steele 328 x2309
calum@caltech.edu

   


Former Members

 

top


Home | Research | Teaching | People | Contact | Materials Science | Chemical Engineering

2003 California Institute of Technology
Last modified: February 28, 2014